Inspiring Jewellery

For as long as I can remember I’ve always carried around a small notebook with me.  I love writing lists – shopping lists, ever-growing ‘to-do’ lists…you name it.  As a teacher, I used to jot down lesson ideas…sometimes in the middle of the night!  But now that I am pursuing my passion for designing jewellery, my little book is bursting with sketches, colour combos, doodle patterns, not to mention all my blog ideas.

So, where do I come up with all of these ideas?

  1. I’ve been lucky enough to have lived in and travelled to loads of different countries, and most of my colour combinations and patterns come from my experiences abroad.  Hand-painted turkish tiles, ancient Egyptian hieroglyphics, the bright colours of Mexican street festivals, Indian silks sold in bustling marketplaces…it is impossible not to be influenced by our experiences.
  2. Nature.  Growing up in Canada, I was inspired by the vast forests and my first line of jewellery was The Leaf, which comes in various shades of green to reflect foliage at different times of the year.
  3. In my previous life (aka: job), I was a teacher of English as a Second Language to adults around the world.  One of my favourite things to teach was idioms and my students used to get a kick out of “It’s raining cats and dogs“.  Since they were forever promising to stop going to the pub and start doing their homework, “Turn over a new leaf” became a popular phrase in the class, and inspired the card design on my leaf jewellery.  The idiomatic theme continued with “Every cloud has a silver lining” inspiring the silver paint on my cloud necklaces.

Hopefully, my jewellery is more than just ‘pretty’, but also inspirational, as my latest memory earrings are.

Tomorrow I’ll be giving you tips on how you can be inspired.

Anisa

xoxo

Leave a Reply

